Workers’ compensation in Ohio differs from that in other states. If you have suffered a work-related injury or illness, the Ohio workers’ compensation attorneys at Jones Law Group can help you seek fair compensation for your injuries.
Below are answers to some commonly asked questions about workers’ compensation in Ohio. If you any questions that aren’t answered here, call (614) 545-9998 or contact Jones Law Group online (link to contact page) to set up a free initial consultation.
Workers’ compensation covers virtually any type of on-the-job injury or industrial illness. Injuries that are commonly covered by workers’ compensation benefits include strains, torn cartilage, sprains, bruises, cuts, amputations, burns, wounds, and bodily reactions to substances. In some instances, the injury may occur several hours or days after an unusual amount of lifting, pulling, or other physical activity. Psychological conditions resulting from work-related injuries may be covered. Pre-existing injuries that were exacerbated by an accident on the job and occupational diseases caused by dust exposure, toxic exposure, chemical exposure, or repetitive stress injuries may also be covered.
The first step is to promptly notify your employer of your injury. You can file a claim by manually completing the First Report of Injury (FROI) and mailing it to any Bureau of Workers’ Compensation (BWC) office. You can also complete the FROI online. If you have been treated for a work-related injury, a claim may have been filed on your behalf already. Contact the BWC to check if this is the case.
You have to file your workers’ compensation claim within two years of the date your disability due to the disease began. The date your disability due to the disease began is the most recent of one of the following: when you first became aware of the disease through medical diagnosis, when you were first treated for the disease, and when you first quit work due to the disease.
Immediately after receiving your First Report of Injury, the BWC will begin the process of investigating your claim. A decision regarding your claim will be made within 28 days. The amount of time it takes to receive your benefits will vary depending on the specifics of your injury, whether your employer is self-insured or state-funded, and where you received medical treatment. Having an experienced workers’ compensation attorney help you file your claim will ensure that you’re able to receive benefits as quickly as possible.
If your workers’ compensation claim was denied, you have 14 days to file an appeal. You can file the appeal online through the Industrial Commission Online Network or in writing by filling out the Notice of Appeal and sending it to any Industrial Commission service office.
Social Security Benefits Increase in 2018
When the Social Security Administration announces the annual cost-of-living adjustment (COLA), there’s usually an increase in the Social Security and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefit amount people receive each month. Federal benefit rates increase when the cost of living rises, as measured by the Department of Labor’s Consumer Price Index (CPI-W). The CPI-W rises when […]READ MORE →
CAR REPAIR NIGHTMARE LEADS TO CLASS ACTION
Our client had a minor fender bender and took her car in to have a dent repaired. She had insurance, and her insurance was willing to pay the reasonable expenses associated with repairing the vehicle. It is alleged that the repair shop, Three-C Body Shop, encouraged her to leave everything in their hands. Weeks passed […]READ MORE →
Mr. Jackson spent much time educating me about the law, the court system, and about the pros and cons of each decision I needed to make throughout this long, arduous process. He was patient, kind, and thorough … I could not have been represented better by anyone else.”